Happy Labor Day!

Labor Day 2014 sq800 copyThis year’s Labor Day menu is inspired by my time living in Dallas and the amazing barbecues and cookouts we would have. A lot of my friends during that time had come to Texas from various parts the south and it is also where I went to cooking school. Believe me when I say, that that was delicious time and a huge influence on how I cook today. So with that in mind, I thought I would thrown down a south-by-southwest (SXSW… get it?) mash-up for Labor Day!

Just click the pictures below to be taken to the recipes. 🙂

Kicking it off I made grilled beef sliders fortified with some New Mexico Hatch chilies and topped with that southern specialty – pimiento cheese.

SxSW Sliders - pin

Putting a twist on the All-American hot dog, I grilled up some pork belly “hot dogs” slathered in barbecue sauce and topped with a vinegary Jalapeño BBQ Slaw

Pork Belly Hot Dog pin

For sides we’re having Red Eye Grilling Beans and a grilled watermelon salad with heirloom tomatoes and blueberries. I believe in nose-to-tail watermelon consumption, so with all those left over watermelon rinds I did a watermelon rind quick pickle infused with jalapeños.

grillin-beans pin

watermelon-salad tall pin

watermelon-pickle pinCheers and Happy Grilling!

~Jeff

One response to “Happy Labor Day!

  1. I nominated you for the Liebster Award! It’s for new bloggers or bloggers who have under 200 followers. There are questions on my site you have to answer. Have fun and good luck!

Leave a Reply

